October

October has been a busy month for me.

Job hunting(Hurrah! I’m no longer unemployed!) and drinking copious amounts of tea haven’t left much time for blogging. The search for the right college to pursue fashion design has led me to some pretty incredible places, and parts of the state I hadn’t explored yet. Seattle has it’s charms, but the recent visit to WSU in the Palouse countryside left me speechless. The sheer sparseness of the landscape is primitive, clean, and wholly different from anything I have ever seen before. The Palouse hills are known for being huge barley and wheat-growing regions. The hills were harvested by the time we drove through, so the colors were gold, pumpkin, camel,  maize, and rich nut browns. So inspiring. I can’t wait to visit in the spring when the hills are a vivid green! While I still haven’t found the right college for me yet, at least I got to explore some glorious country.

Highlights:

-Fresh,locally caught, smoked salmon chowder dinner by lantern light

-Croissants, chocolate amandines and coffee at Le Panier, Seattle

-Walking through the most gorgeous dahlias at Skagit Valley Gardens( a detour that turned out to be surprisingly beautiful!)

-Spotting Mary Jane’s Farm and rolling hills in Moscow, Idaho

-Seeing my first moose!

-Driving past the mighty Columbia River

-Hiking up to Multnomah Falls, OR( stunning and am definitely bringing the rest of the family to see)

-My first visit to the Hipster Capital of the World, Portland, Oregon (a lovely, tree-filled city)

-Eating the most AMAZING truffle oil, garlic and rosemary crusted French fries at The Local Cow, Gresham, OR

XOXO

Abigail


					
Standard

2 thoughts on “October

Leave a Reply

